Happy Memorial Day

Happy Memorial Day.

On 10 Nov 2000, 225 years after it’s founding at Tun Tavern (not the original) Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, I joined the ranks of the United States Marine Corps at Parris Island, South Carolina.  I survived the sand fleas and upon completion of the Crucible, Lee Greenwood’s God Bless the USA was playing.  It was at this time that I earned my Eagle, Globe, and Anchor. Not a dry eye in the ranks that day. Then, as they say, the real work begins.

You see, recruit training, while difficult; was the easiest portion of my time as a US Marine. The next four yours consisted of lots of training and several deployments as an infantry Marine with a helo company. Fightin’ Fox Company, Second Battalion, Sixth Marines (with a storied history) out of Camp Lejeune, North Carolina is where I was stationed.  I’ve humped gear that weighed more than I did. I’ve shot my rifle true and accurately out to 500 yards with iron sights. I’ve deployed to 11 countries, I’ve set foot on the continents of North America, Africa, Asia, and Europe.  I’ve served in the Middle East, looked upon the waters of the Pacific, Atlantic, and Indian Oceans as well as the Persian Gulf and Mediterranean Sea.  I’ve traveled the length of the Suez Canal. I’ve trained on Mount Fuji and I qualified as an expert rifleman on the windy ranges of Okinawa.

I spent a childhood in awe of the founders of America and those willing to fight for their principles of liberty.  The willingness to sacrifice their lives, fortunes, and sacred honor for liberty is inspiring.  I loved the America that I read about. The years however, wore that awe to near disgust of modern America. As I write this today we have a nation of people split, by design, over race. We have a President that openly lies to the people. We have an attorney general, Eric Holder, (who purposefully lets weapons go to Mexico to blame the second amendment) and former IRS head Lois Lerner that are held in contempt by congress without repercussion.  Senate majority leader, Harry Reid, with ties to the Chinese, calls ranchers “Domestic Terrorists.”  The science czar for the executive branch, John Holdren, suggests forced medication of a fluoride which is deemed to be poisonous by many prestigious establishments.  Congress passes laws without being able to read them, and the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court writes both the assenting and dissenting opinion on the obamacare healthcare law because of a suspicious last minute change of heart. The IRS targets conservatives, Christians, and patriots. The Department of Homeland Security labels patriots and gun owners as the new enemy and let’s known terrorists through airports, while the military builds training bases that look eerily American. A congressman is now claiming that they have proven that communism works…that’s why North Korea is such a hot destination spot.

I joined the Marine Corps as a patriot, I left perplexed.  It turns out that war is a racket.

We have entitlement programs that are sinking the economy by design.  One example is Cloward and Piven. Our nation has more takers than givers.  Our veterans, men and women who have actually stood up for the nation, are treated horribly at the VA hospitals as well.  What ever happened to JFK and the idea of ask not what your country can do for you but what you can do for your country? Oh yeah, he was killed…by whom?  The truth is, I am disgusted by the America of today. Our politically correct, commercial, superficial, thug culture is the antithesis of honor, courage, and commitment. It is destroying self responsibility and is taking over Americas airwaves through the movies and TV. I am hopeful though, for there are glimmers of light shinning through the smoke. Congress is attempting to shed light upon the actions of the Federal Reserve and the global bankers. Congress is attempting to shed light upon the connections between Benghazi and the connections between the US government and Al Qaeda.  There are other glimmers as well.

I’m reading a great book titled The Making Of America. It takes every clause of the constitution and explains it through the eyes of the founders. Through their own words. The brilliance of these men is evident in their writings and deliberations. These men struggled over every word. They were very precise and meant exactly what they wrote. The constitution was designed to be built upon by future generations. Not through the reinterpretation of the words written, but by the amendment process only. These men meant what was written.

Let us remember those ideals of the Declaration of Independence of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. Let us also remember that government is instituted by men and that it is “We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.”

After all on these years I can feel my pride rising like a burning fire. My accomplishments are but pebbles compared to the accomplishments of those that i’ve followed.  I am Proud of the American ideals, I am proud to be an American.   I am proud of the culture and traditions that I have inherited and followed.  I know that a return to the constitutional ideals is the answer to many of our woes.  Let us reject men who act as dictators.  Let us honor those who have fallen for our freedoms. Let us honor the men and women who have had the courage to stand up and defend what they believed in. Let us honor the men and women who have made the ultimate sacrifice. Let us be mighty proud of that Ragged Old Flag.

Semper Fidelis and happy memorial day.

IMG 6655

Leave a Reply

